Sponsored by:

Rubbing Rubber Rubbing Me The Wrong Way

Search this Thread

Old 11-14-2009, 02:37 AM
pcarhombre
Rennlist Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rubbing Rubber Rubbing Me The Wrong Way

Folks, I need some advice as I try to decipher a problem with the front suspension on my 97 NB. The car has Monroe sports hook up, various other turbo parts, turbo sway bar rear, anti sway in front compartment, 18" twists, RS splitters and tail (all done by PO).

The problem is that when I go into a deep turn on anything but completely level ground, the tires rub. This seems to have gotten worse since I first got the car almost a year ago, or maybe I've just gotten accustomed to the car and now push more than when first it was new to me. In fact, on the passenger side, the fender is actually becoming distorted because of the contact between tire and fender. The car sits low (I think because of the turbo suspension etc but that's why I'm a newbie - I don't know for sure).

I love and would like to maintain the current look (ride height...space between top of tires and fender) but really need to figure out how to eliminate the rub and damage to the fenders while maintaining that aggressive look. It is not a case of not wanting to spend $$, but how to spend it most wisely to alleviate the problem. The car is not/has not been tracked (although a guy can dream, can't he?) Most of all, if the shocks are still good, I'd love to know what is causing this phenomenon.

I had a limited talk with my guy about this the other day. (Actually, he was the one that noticed the distortion of the fender before I had a chance to say anything). I respect that his time and attention is not free when I am not on the clock. Not that he has made me feel bad or anything; I'm just sensitive to the fact that while he is answering my questions without my car being on the rack, other cars ARE on the rack and he is extending kindness to me to stop what he is doing to answer my "fool questions."