Sponsored by:

OT: Anyone build model cars?

Search this Thread

Old 04-04-2009, 03:50 AM
logan2z
Three Wheelin'

Received 10 Likes on 5 Posts
Default OT: Anyone build model cars?

It's been many years since I built a model car, but out of the blue, while watching the practice session for the Malaysian Grand Prix, I got a hankering to build one. Just wondering if anyone here builds model car kits and, if so, if they've got any pictures of their built models to share. Any suggestions for good Porsche kits, such as a 917 kit or a '73 RS kit? I used to favor Tamiya kits, but don't know if they're still of high quality or not.
Old 04-04-2009, 06:40 AM
Tania W
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'm a model builder...well a kit collector at the moment! Some of my built
models are here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/tlw/set...7601338245420/
For the 73RS the Fujimi Enthusiast kit is the way to go. I've got most of the Enthusiast series, from 356 through to 964 although none of them are built yet......
Tamiya do a nice 996 GT3 kit plus 996 Carrera and Boxster, but as for 993s, there are limited choices. Italeri did a couple...a Carrera and a Turbo, and Tamiya have a racing and "club-sport" version of the GT2. Tamiya and Hasegawa have recently re-released their 956/962 kits, and there is a Tamiya and Revell GT1. Fujimi have a number of racing Porsche kits of slightly dubious quality, but they also do a couple of nice Cayman kits. Their Historic Race Car kits of the 917 (several different versions) are also great.
Tamiya are probably still king of the hill, but the Fujimi Enthusiast kits can give great results with a ittle work.
Check out Hobbylink Japan at www.hlj.com for what's available.....there are many other mail order sites, but they display most of the kits.
Picture of some of my stash below.....one day, if I live long enough, I may build them all!
Attached Images  
Old 04-04-2009, 07:00 AM
mjsporsche
Rennlist Member

Received 141 Likes on 91 Posts

Tania,