Notices
993 Forum 1995-1998

SwissTrax Garage Tiles arrived - Question?

Search this Thread

Old 10-25-2007, 03:25 PM
AndyK
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default SwissTrax Garage Tiles arrived - Question?

I ordered grey and silver Swiss Trax tiles for my small garage, to spruce up the place. They arrived yesterday. I never tried anything like Racedeck or similar snap together tiles before.

For those of you who have these, or Race Deck, when you first lay them down (I snapped about 8 tiles together, to see how they would look), do they make noise against the floor, and seem a little bit like laying out your kid's Lego set?

I am hoping when I put the whole floor together, it will solidify and not move around like it does now?

All the photos of your Race Deck and Swiss Trax floors LOOK great, but...

Andy
Old 10-25-2007, 03:49 PM
ste993
Pro

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Andy,

Speaking as a general contractor I would imagine there should be some kind of underlay or sheet that goes on the concrete to stop movement and make a more solid contact. I could be wrong because I have never done this particular floor before, but that is what you do for any other professional floating floor. Just my 2c.
Old 10-25-2007, 07:30 PM
stace
Rennlist Member

Received 25 Likes on 21 Posts

from what I've read about this is a common complaint. (I don't have floor tiles so this is all just what I've read about)

the answer does seem to be using an underlayment. typically the thin blue foam used under floating wood floors or Pergo style flooring. that quiets the plastic tiles as you walk or drive over them.

we'll be interested to hear if that works out for you.
Old 10-25-2007, 07:49 PM
rcwelch
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

If you put some kind of underlayment or foam under the product...how is the floor supposed to drain when you drive in out of the rain or snow?
Old 10-25-2007, 07:50 PM
hutch
Instructor