Sponsored by:

Hi milege 993's

Search this Thread

Old 07-22-2007, 01:07 AM
luke-44
Rennlist Member

Received 73 Likes on 45 Posts
Default Hi milege 993's

Hi all - newbie here looking at 993's with a tight budget.

There are a few high milege (over 100000) 993's out there at what seems like really good prices. I have tried to develop some sort of spreadsheet to determine a realtionship between price and miles, but I have given up on that - too many variables, and no consistency in the market pricing. Some higher milege cars seem well maintained, and except for the odometer, seem indistinguisahble from the lower milege versions (at least in the pix).

What are the comments on buying a high milge 993 at a low price? Does it end up costing more in the long run, or, if a car is well maintained, are they good value? Could one argue it has had 'the big hits" and actually great value - ready for another 100000?

So, can I save a few bucks, and with a good ppi and good records, and be a happy owner? Or, am I in for a major mistake?

I plan to use it for DE and weekends.

Thanks for the input,
Old 07-22-2007, 01:50 AM
The Brewmeister
Rennlist Member

Received 38 Likes on 33 Posts

If it checks out with a good PPI and the records are in order it COULD be a
great value. But then you can't forget that it's in the vicinity of ten years old
and it's a used car with 100000+ miles. In this territory there are no
guarantees and major repairs are expensive. Used cars are always a bit
of a gamble. You never know when the next major failure can come up. That's just the way it is.
Old 07-22-2007, 01:51 AM
Mike J
Addict
Lifetime Rennlist

Received 71 Likes on 58 Posts