Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Newbie here - with newbie question??

Search this Thread

Old 11-21-2006, 10:11 AM
1998C2S
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie here - with newbie question??

Hello all,

Just thought I'd take a moment to introduce myself to the forum. For a couple months now I have been a reader, but am now a poster since I am the proud new owner of a 1998 C2S, black on black, with turbo S spoilers f&r. Love the car so far, but a couple issue have arisen, so bare with me, since I am not nearly as knowledgable as all of you. My honest feeling is that every car with 50K miles has a few stories to tell, but figuring out what they are is the hard part, right?

The car runs strong, but the perceived problem happens at idle speed. Once the car has warmed up a bit, and sits at idle, the idle speed drops to about 500 (lower than normal according to friend). Once this happens, it kind of bounces around a bit due to the low idle speed. The concerning part is that a periodic clunking sound from the front of the motor becomes apparent as it bounces around 500 rpm. It can be best heard when one sticks their head around the front of the rear tire. Could it be a belly pan, or heat shielding under the car, or what?? The clunking sound is not noticable at slightly higher rpm, so is the fix as easy as upping the idle speed??

I am confident in all your knowledge, so any advice is greatly appreciated. I am sure that once all the questions from me are out of the way, I will also be able to adivse newbies like me.

Ciao,
Bryan
Delray Beach, Florida

PS - had a 996 for a couple years, and now I know what you all figured out already - the 993 is the best Porsche ever

And don't worry, many more newbie questions to follow!
Old 11-21-2006, 11:23 AM
Howdy993
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

No expert here, but you may want to get a new Idle Stabilization Valve (ISV) to keep the bouncing around at bay.

Welcome and Best wishes!