993 Forum 1995-1998

DOT-R vs Slicks

Search this Thread

Old 04-17-2006, 12:12 PM
Harvey Yancey
Rennlist Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default DOT-R vs Slicks

I have been using slicks for the past 3 years and have never used DOT-R tires but am interested in the pluses and minuses of DOT-R's.

Does anyone have any experience with running both slicks and DOT-R's? I am looking for opinions on adhesion vs longevity of both. If I can get more track days out of DOT-R's I am inclined to try them as long as I do not lose a lot of stickiness.

TIA
Old 04-17-2006, 12:18 PM
Martin S.
Rennlist Member

Received 523 Likes on 346 Posts
Cool Here is the scoop...

Right away, if I were you, the person I know with the most experience in this department is Kary at Group 9 Motorsports. Google Group 9...it will come up. Group 9 is a Rennllist sponsor too.

If you have any needs for racing tyupe stuff, Kary is a great source.
Old 04-17-2006, 12:27 PM
viperbob
Former Vendor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

R rated tires are a cross between a slick and a street tire. As such, they are heavier and do not have as much grip. R Rated tires are WAY better than street tires for grip. They are also a little more informative as to when they are about to let loose over slicks. They are also more expensve than slicks.

Depending on the slick you are using and the compound, they may last just as long as an R Rated tires. I got about 24 heat cycles out of my slicks (Yokohamas), Before with the Pilot sport Cups, they were great for the first 8 or so heat cycles and then drifted off and were generally done with around the same number of heat cycles. All in all I felt that I saved money and had MUCH better traction with slicks...
Old 04-17-2006, 12:36 PM
George A
Three Wheelin'

Harvey,