ARE MY TIRES OK FOR SEBRING?

Search this Thread

Old 09-20-2005, 09:47 PM
pcar964
Addict
Lifetime Rennlist

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default ARE MY TIRES OK FOR SEBRING?

I'm going to Sebring this Sunday for DE, would like some opinions on my rear tires. (It's a 250 mile drive to the track, then I figure about 180 miles of track abuse)

I've never used ContisportContact 2s before - They're into the wear bars already on the inside, how long before I'm at the cords? If you look carefully, it looks like there's a different shade of rubber starting to show through on the inside blocks... almost looks like a different rubber compound is starting to show through.

My thinking is, the cords won't show through until I've worn all the tread off completely and the wear bars "are no more" - can anyone set me straight on this?

Thanks in advance guys!

(First two pictures are of Left Rear, last two are of Right Rear)

Last edited by pcar964; 12-04-2008 at 03:02 PM.
Old 09-20-2005, 09:54 PM
Mark in Baltimore
Rennlist Member

Received 500 Likes on 321 Posts

pcar,

Looks like you have decent amount of tread. Highway running won't cause that much wear. If they were my tires, I'd run 'em 'til they corded. But I'm a cheap b*stard.
Old 09-20-2005, 10:07 PM
pcar964
Addict
Lifetime Rennlist

Originally Posted by Mark in Baltimore
pcar,

Looks like you have decent amount of tread. Highway running won't cause that much wear. If they were my tires, I'd run 'em 'til they corded. But I'm a cheap b*stard.
I've been eating one meal a day so I can afford this track day, my middle name is cheap !
Old 09-21-2005, 08:32 PM
pcar964
Addict
Lifetime Rennlist

Does anybody know why the rubber has changed colors like that? I know it's not heat cycles, because these tires have never been on a track.
Old 09-21-2005, 10:24 PM
pcar964
Addict
Lifetime Rennlist

Anyone?
Old 09-21-2005, 11:21 PM
vuugti
Addict
Rennlist Member