Sponsored by: Porsche San Francisco

Lithium Battery charging

Search this Thread

Old 12-01-2023, 02:40 PM
neil.schneider
Drifting

Received 449 Likes on 293 Posts
Default Lithium Battery charging

Do you guys have any opinion/knowledge of how often and under what circumstances we should be charging our batteries? I have a dash cam that monitors my car when parked. I do drive my car year-round but during crappy weather in the winter, I may go 2 to 3 weeks with out driving. should we be topping off our cars regularly?
Old 12-01-2023, 04:17 PM
sensei_tts
Rennlist Member

Received 263 Likes on 111 Posts

Originally Posted by neil.schneider
Do you guys have any opinion/knowledge of how often and under what circumstances we should be charging our batteries? I have a dash cam that monitors my car when parked. I do drive my car year-round but during crappy weather in the winter, I may go 2 to 3 weeks with out driving. should we be topping off our cars regularly?
im pretty new to porsche but from what i've read, if it's sitting for more than a couple of weeks it should be put on a trickle charger. i've also read all of the difficulties in getting back into the car, etc. when the battery is dead. so for me, i always keep the car on trickle even if i know i'm going out again in a few days. car is a fun car, not daily. i installed the permanent adapter to the battery so to get it on trickle is a matter of just plugging in the connector. i also put a reminder up for me to disconnect the car before trying to pull it out of the garage

i have trickle chargers connected to all my vehicles including motorcyles and don't have battery issues.

Last edited by sensei_tts; 12-01-2023 at 04:19 PM.
The following users liked this post:
HOTCHKIS (01-07-2024)
Old 12-01-2023, 05:43 PM
hcvone
Rennlist Member

Received 805 Likes on 499 Posts

If I go for 3 weeks of not driving I plug it in, I have a direct battery hookup with the CTek plug under the passenger wiper blade