Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Brake dust issues solved 991.2 C4S

Search this Thread

Old 12-29-2016, 02:45 PM
mtony
Pro

Received 14 Likes on 9 Posts

As mentioned above, I really didn't notice a change in braking performance on the street, but that could be just the way and where I drive. BTW, I've been tracking other cars for over 15 years, and I would never take my car to the track with the stock pads either.
Old 12-29-2016, 06:15 PM
boatracer
Rennlist Member

Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts

Which pads do you recommend for track days?
Old 12-29-2016, 06:21 PM
Jenner
Burning Brakes

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts

Originally Posted by mtony
BTW, I've been tracking other cars for over 15 years, and I would never take my car to the track with the stock pads either.
Ditto, been tracking since 1999. OEM pads (on Porsche's) can work for the novice run groups given the speeds they will see. Beyond that no way.

Originally Posted by boatracer
Which pads do you recommend for track days?
Dedicated track pads by PFC, Ferodo, Pagid.

Depends on the Porsche. For the GT3 RS I'd say PFC, for the GT4 I'd day Ferodo. Just based on my personal experience with said cars and pads.
Old 12-29-2016, 06:27 PM
Jenner
Burning Brakes

Just to correct my comments before about the pad experience on Audis I just noticed that the pad for the 991.2 is the 104 model (semi-metallic) and the pad I was using on Audi's were 105 (ceramic).

The 105 ceramic pad has even less dust than the 104, but has less stopping power and less initial bite as seen here in these spider charts.

104:

105:

So the initial bite on these might not be as reduced as I was thinking/expecting.
Old 12-30-2016, 02:19 PM
fast1
Race Car

Received 220 Likes on 146 Posts

Originally Posted by Jenner
Past experience for me with Centric Posi-Quiet (on other vehicles) has been a small trade off in initial "bite" in exchange for the lower dust.