Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Help me choose my first P car 991 S or GTS

Search this Thread

Old 07-17-2015 | 01:51 AM
trucheli
Pro

Default Help me choose my first P car 991 S or GTS

I am a BMW loyalist who has been driving M cars since 2009. Presently I drive a 2015 F82 M4.
I am seriously considering getting my first Porsche. I am 51 years old living in Miami, FL.

I have been doing European Deliveries since 2006 flipping my cars every year and taking awesome vacations driving throughout Europe. Now I think I am financially ready to purchase my first P car but I need to decide between a well optioned Carrera S or a basic GTS. This is a big financial commitment since I have a fixed budget of around $112,000. I have driven a 991 S with Sport Chrono and I was ok with the power compared to the E92 and F82. Living in Miami torque is more important than light weight and handling. I have not driven the GTS. I am considering the GTS in manual and the 991S PDK.

I wonder if the horsepower difference will be worth sacrificing some options that I can get on the Carrera S like Premium Package Plus, 14 Way seats, PDK (my wife will also drive it and she commutes to work in rush hour traffic).

Porsche is behind on technology compared to BMW. I love most of the new driver assistant features, BMW Apps, BMW Connected Drive, Headsup display and two M Buttons to choose your driving style setting.

Planning to keep the car for more than 5 years. I would appreciate opinions from people who had made the change from 991 S to GTS.
Old 07-17-2015 | 02:27 AM
wishman44
Instructor

If you are looking for increased torque as well as better tech, you might consider waiting for the 991.2. Especially if you have a new M4. Seems it might be worthwhile to wait a couple of months for the next generation.
Old 07-17-2015 | 02:46 AM
reuben991
Rennlist Member

Originally Posted by dwishner