Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Wheelchair adaptions (hand controls)

Search this Thread

Old 04-04-2014, 05:18 PM
mrwheels
AutoX

Received 5 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Wheelchair adaptions (hand controls)

Hello folks,

Thought I’d share some pics to illustrate modifications to a 991 in order to be driven with hand controls. For background, my legs don’t work due to a spinal injury (neck) and I have poor balance (no stomach muscle etc). Anyway I have been driving with hand controls for 15+ years and have had a number of 991 911s. I thought I’d share some information in case there were any other folks out there looking into getting this type of adaption done for a 991. I learned most of these by mistakes so...

1) Avoid the comfort entry package. This causes the steering column to move as the steering wheel in effect retracts into the dash to give more space to get in and out of the car. Given that the hand controls rods are bolted to the steering column this is a non-starter as the movement with cause either the motor to burn out or the rods to bend/brake. However if you absolutely must get this feature, as in you are buying a stock or second hand car then take the fuse out that controls the motor whilst the steering wheel is in the correct position. My first 991 was a showroom car and it had this option so I learned the hard way!

2) Seats. For me (spinal injury - neck), I have poor balance and find that the bucket, sport style seats are better, (I have had all versions of the seats available for a 991). The transfer in is tougher but you are better planted. I haven’t found any kind of harness system available for normal seats (not talking approved for track).

3) Boot. I can’t fit the main part of my wheelchair in the front boot (I know some folks can), so I put my chair either on the passenger seat or in the back seats (frame on one side wheels on the other).