Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Numeric Shifter Cables worth it?

Search this Thread

Old 08-08-2020, 09:06 AM
SlickOne
Rennlist Member

Received 47 Likes on 34 Posts
Question Numeric Shifter Cables worth it?

I just purchased the numeric shifter. Is it worth the time and money getting the cables too?

Thanks!
Old 08-08-2020, 10:52 AM
Catharpin
Burning Brakes

Received 563 Likes on 300 Posts

While I have no actual experiences with numeric, from what I have read the answer is a big yes.
Old 08-08-2020, 10:57 AM
Wolpertinger
Rennlist Member

Received 544 Likes on 270 Posts

I put the Numeric cables on my 2011 987.2 Cayman S and the difference was dramatic. Much more precise, no slop. And peace of mind knowing the ends aren't going to break and leave you stranded. Worth every penny.
Old 08-08-2020, 11:04 AM
SoCal C2S
Three Wheelin'

Received 130 Likes on 88 Posts

Had them on my 997 and the shifter and cables transformed the whole stick experience. Just the shifter was an improvement but the cables brought it all together. Just a FYI...the cables do transfer a little of gear noise into the cabin but it is not intrusive or annoying, but at least for me, ties you more to the car (if that makes sense). If you’re thinking of a Function First Trans Mount bushing to stiffen up the movement of the trans, that really increases the NVH into the cabin. I did and took it out a week later.
Old 08-08-2020, 11:16 AM
garfunkle
Banned

Received 1,150 Likes on 630 Posts

Resounding YES. I have in my 987. Another piece that I like is the FF1 transmission mount as I have these in all my Porsche sports cars.
Old 08-08-2020, 01:52 PM
Joec500
Rennlist Member

Received 1,028 Likes on 612 Posts

I have the Function First Trans mount in Orange (Softest) It does transmit some NVH, but it noticeably improves the throttle response and shifter feel. To me it's worth it. I would not get anything harder than their softest one.