Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

How to correct a FALSE CARFAX report...

Search this Thread

Old 05-30-2019, 01:07 AM
tamahal
4th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation How to correct a FALSE CARFAX report...

Hi guys,

I'm relatively new to Rennlist, tho i have owned multiple Porsche and been a enthusiast for a long time. I have a problem and wanted some advise. I own a 2015 991.1 C4S with Manual transmission and want to sell it. I took the car to a dealer for consignment and they told me there is a Carfax report showing front end damage. This was a total shock to me , since the car has never been in any accident or repair while in my position. The date of the report was literally 2 weeks prior and the car hasn't been driven much. I contacted CarFax and got no where with them, they emailed me saying they have confirmed with their source and the information is correct and to summit the repair order. There is no repair order , because the car hasn't been repaired or damaged.... whats my options, any suggestions?
Old 05-30-2019, 03:04 AM
Cuda911
Race Director

Received 441 Likes on 284 Posts

Have carfax disclose their "source."
Old 05-30-2019, 03:12 AM
chris2
Instructor

Received 109 Likes on 38 Posts

I just saw a post like this on reddit, maybe it was you, but the responses there don't give much confidence in this being correctable. https://www.reddit.com/r/cars/commen...carfax_report/
Old 05-30-2019, 08:11 AM
Bxstr
Rennlist Member

Received 2,966 Likes on 2,045 Posts

I dealt with this. My local dealer submitted the wrong mileage when servicing my car. This would have shown up on the Carfax as an odometer rollback. I emailed Carfax showing them the updated invoice and they corrected it and then sent me a free 60 day Carfax report for that car.
Old 05-30-2019, 10:11 AM
tamahal
4th Gear

Originally Posted by Cuda911
Have carfax disclose their "source."
No, they will not disclose their source. They claim per their policy they do not disclose the source.