GTS "KISS" build - comments welcome

Search this Thread

Old 09-03-2018, 07:57 AM
cgardnerma
Intermediate

Received 6 Likes on 3 Posts
Default GTS "KISS" build - comments welcome

Hi folks,

I've been driving a 2010 Cayman S for the last 8 years. It's a special, R-like build with all the important performance options, sport buckets, Carnewal exhaust and full leather with deviated stitching. It's still beautiful. I hit the track once a twice a year, did an occasional autocross and drive it year around on snows here in New England. The car was babied from a maintenance perspective (I have a lift and do my own wrenching), but it was driven like it is supposed to be. I was about to pull the trigger on one of the gazillion GT4's on the market as prices are softening...and then I drove a new GTS. Oops.

Here's my "Keep It Simple Stupid" build for a 2019 allocation:

ttp://www.porsche-code.com/PKM5SXG2

Money is not the issue on the build, but rather, analog simplicity and driving experience. I like the idea of less wires, servos and pumps and as little weight as possible. All that said, I am still going back and forth on RAS. I'd love some comments on the build, especially the ones that tell me I am stupid for not including x,y or z. :-)

Looking forward to joining the 991 family.
Old 09-03-2018, 08:36 AM
tstafford
Race Car

Received 1,086 Likes on 622 Posts

You'll probably get a lot of comments about adding stuff for resale and whatnot - you sound like the kind of guy who will ignore all that (good for you).

My two cents:
I have a GT Silver, Black/Bordeaux - I think you'll love it.
If you track the car (I do):
RAS - it's tremendous on the track and around town (parking), highly recommend it
PDCC - it will absolutely shrink lap times, not sure it's more fun

For me as a KISS guy and a track guy, those are probably the only other things I'd consider (other than PDK which is a must for me but I get the 7-speed thing)

Enjoy the car - it's a lot more car than a Cayman.