Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

991.1 C2S DIY Lowering Guide

Search this Thread

Old 08-22-2017 | 04:16 AM
johnc510
Instructor

Lightbulb 991.1 C2S DIY Lowering Guide

After my recent purchase of HRE wheels, I suddenly felt my car was riding too high -- the wheel gap was too much for my tastes. My car has SPASM suspension but still, didn't feel low enough. Strangely, I thought the ride height / wheel gap was acceptable with the Carrera Classic wheels that my car was originally sporting. Anyhow, so I went with H&R springs over TechArt since TechArt is just slightly lower than SPASM. I lowered a couple of cars (including a MB E350 sedan) in the past on my own so I figured I'd go ahead and DIY it for my 911 as well.

I didn't really find any step-by-step tutorials on rennlist or 6speedonline so decided to take the time to take pictures along the way so I can write up the steps.

DISCLAIMER: I am not a mechanic -- just a guy with a knack for DIY'ing stuff. These are the steps I performed to lower my 991 C2S with SPASM suspension. If you want to lower your car, I would strongly recommend you have it done by a professional shop. If you plan to do the work yourself, you do so at your own risk. Lowering a vehicle by untrained individuals can potentially lead to damage to your vehicle, other vehicles on the road, and/or other property; injury to yourself and/or others around you during and in result of improper work. It can even potentially lead to death should the car fall on you or anyone else around your vehicle at the time it is raised -- or should you lose control of your vehicle on the road in result of a poor job on your part. Again, I strongly recommend you go through a professional shop to get your car lowered so I really want to iterate that you are assuming 100% of the risks by doing the work yourself! Stop now and contact your Porsche dealer or other qualified shop. Read on only if you understand these risks.