Sponsored by:

Ground clearance?

Search this Thread

Old 11-18-2013, 05:53 PM
aamersa
Burning Brakes

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Ground clearance?

What is ground clearance like on the 991 gt3? vs the 458? (both stock)

The 458 clears normal speed bumps very comfortably (without lifter). I am not concerned about unusual or exceptional inclines or declines.

Will the 991 Gt3 get its lip chewed by every day speed bumps?
Old 11-18-2013, 06:21 PM
Mike in CA
Race Director

Received 145 Likes on 78 Posts

I've had no experience with a 458, but my 997.2 S with sport chassis which had a suspension 1/2" taller than the GT3 and had no deep chin spoiler would scrape the fairings in front of the wheels consistently. And if those fairings scrape, a chin spoiler absolutely would have. Some folks say they don't have issues, but I just don't see how I could own a 991 GT3 for the places I drive without a lift.
Old 11-18-2013, 06:26 PM
frayed
Race Car

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

The problem is the combination of low front ground clearance + long front overhang. Your 458 is a short overhang design, and but long front overhang of 911 sucks in transitions, like a transition from the street to a driveway/ramp. Both my prior 996 and 997 GT3s were a PITA around town for this reason.

So I opted for the lifter.

I never had any ground clearance issues on my Modena 360; not sure how the 430 compares but likely similar.
Old 11-18-2013, 06:32 PM
aamersa
Burning Brakes

Originally Posted by Mike in CA
I've had no experience with a 458, but my 997.2 S with sport chassis which had a suspension 1/2" taller than the GT3 and had no deep chin spoiler would scrape the fairings in front of the wheels consistently. And if those fairings scrape, a chin spoiler absolutely would have. Some folks say they don't have issues, but I just don't see how I could own a 991 GT3 for the places I drive without a lift.