Sponsored by:

Manual?

Search this Thread

Old 07-15-2013, 04:18 PM
TrackFan
Banned

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Manual?

This is my first post here, so let me say hello first off. I've been reading this forum for a little while, and I figured it's about time to join. I've been a car nut for 60 years now. (I'm 70) I've never owned a Porsche, but I don't understand that myself. I always wanted to.

So, to my question. For 60 years i've never owned an automatic. I figured at this point, I could live out my life saying that. All my street cars, race cars, and even my past job of driving an 18 wheeler were all shifted by me. I like to shift.

Then I caught an interest in the new GT3. Like some of you I'm disappointed in a no manual option. I studied the PDK, and i'll admit I would probably be faster with it, but speed isn't always the bottom line. I'll just be doing track days. No real racing. So, the maximum enjoyment is the goal, and that means shifting myself.

What i'm curious about is hard would it be to convert the GT3 to manual? I know it would be pricey, but it seems the 7 speed from the CS would bolt in. Along with the shifter, clutch pedal etc. My biggest worry is the computer.

What are your thoughts?
Old 07-15-2013, 04:28 PM
Dude-
Pro

Hi TrackFan, I hate to say this but 997 GT3. No need to convert if speed is not important to you. I unfortunately don't know a single thing about converting the 991 GT3 which is why I think it may be too much work.

Cheers.
Old 07-15-2013, 04:37 PM
Mike in CA
Race Director

Received 147 Likes on 79 Posts

I think it would be monumentally expensive. Agree with Dude; look for a nice used 997.2 GT3.
Old 07-15-2013, 04:58 PM
TrackFan
Banned

I've fallen in love with the 991 GT3 though. I also like some of the new features like RWS.

Don't misunderstand me. I still want to go fast, and will be driving near my limit. I just won't be trying to win a race, so a bit slower time won't matter that much.