968 Forum 1992-1995

Rough Idle 968

Search this Thread

Old 11-16-2017, 04:15 AM
olaugh
AutoX

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rough Idle 968

I have a very rough idle on my 968 with it searching from 900 to 1200 rpm, shaking and near stall on both start up and after warm up. At higher rpms it runs good. I replaced both the o2 sensor and TPS throttle switch with a new bosch, but alas neither seemed to do the trick. I have no check engine lights besides the air bag warning. I am new at this and not set up for major work but would like to do as much as I can before taking it in. Any advice on next steps would be great.

I do have a couple of things I want to confirm. Does a replaced TPS require any adjustment? Unlike the 944 I believe the DME automatically detects idle position right?

I also noticed the crankshaft position sensor cable connector end is sketchy. The connector end probably cracked and had been removed with the 3 wires siliconed together with leads sticking out. It appears to be working but I will replace if this in any way could be contributing to the problem.

Thanks!
Old 11-16-2017, 08:58 AM
RajDatta
Rennlist Member

Received 21 Likes on 13 Posts

It could be your idle stabilizer which can gunk up. Does the car cycle where it almost shuts off and then the idle increases?
You should also fix any known electrical issues like the speed and ref sensor connectors.
Old 11-17-2017, 12:56 AM
olaugh
AutoX

Thats correct, it cycles up to 1200 or so rpm and then down sometimes stalling out and then back up again and repeat.

By idle stabilizer i assume you are referring to idle control valve correct? i will hit that next to clean and test.
Old 11-17-2017, 12:09 PM
RajDatta
Rennlist Member

Received 21 Likes on 13 Posts