Notices
964 Turbo Forum 1989-1994

Just purchased '91 turbo what mods first?

Search this Thread

Old 09-12-2004, 01:19 AM
krichard
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Just purchased '91 turbo what mods first?

Ok I am new to the Turbo thing and need advice on what mods give the best bang for the buck. I have done some searching and it looks like the Fabspeed cat bypass is a good place to start. I think I'll be ording mine tonight. What next? I don't want to go overboard so lets say I have 3k to spend right now. What mods will give me the best results and will be safe?

Thanks,

Kerry
Old 09-12-2004, 10:14 AM
C2 Turbo
Rennlist Member

Received 261 Likes on 186 Posts

Welcome aboard and congratulations on your new car.I think as far as performance goes get the headers,exhaust and 1 bar boost spring and you will be very happy with the performance.However before you do that i would rather lower the car and put some nice 18" first as this car looks ugly with stock ride height.
Btw did you buy that Coral red 91 and how much did you pay for the car ? How about some picts ?
Old 09-12-2004, 11:22 AM
krichard
Instructor

Where is a good place to start shopping for these components? I ordered the cat bypass from fabspeed last night. I have no idea where to go for the rest, i.e. 1 bar spring and headers. Is it safe to pop on a 1 bar spring without additional mods to the fuel system?

I really like the look of the 3.6 wheels but didn't turn up much other than Wheel Enhancement.
Old 09-12-2004, 12:12 PM
PorschePhD
Rennlist Lifetime Member

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

It is safe to run one bar with no fuel mods. Simply turn the CO up a tad. If you are working on a budget consider a set of headers. They will not add a ton of HP but will lower spool times. The power band comes on sooner.