Sponsored by:

Proper Introduction - New 964 Owner

Search this Thread

Old 03-18-2015, 10:27 PM
Porschenut_Lee
Rennlist Member

Received 8 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Proper Introduction - New 964 Owner

I guess it's about time to introduce myself and my car. I'm not exactly new to Rennlist, but I am new to the 964 section. In fact I was a member of this forum before it was Rennlist. Anyone remember Porschelist back in the mid 90's? No sub categories like today. Just one big email list of diehard Porsche guys.

I am however new to the 964 model. I've had a couple earlier cars and a 3.2L Carrera but this car is a whole new ballgame for me.

The car: A black on black 1991 C4 with 111,000 miles and only 4 days old to me. I picked it up last Saturday and drove the new to me car home in a snowstorm Is there a better way to get acquainted with the C4's AWD system?

I got a decent deal on the car, however it does have some cosmetic and mechanical issues that need attention. The car was the prior owners daily driver for the last 60,000 miles, so it isn't a garage queen by any standard. In fact, the PO was so complacent with the cosmetics of the car that the rear bridge spoiler is epoxied on and not in clean fashion either!!! He was however a great guy to deal with and was in tune with the mechanical nature of the car tending to the proper maintenance. In his three years of ownership he did the following:
  • New Clutch at 60k
  • New Starter
  • New AC compressor
  • New oil cooler fan
  • New AC condenser fan
  • Fuel pump
  • Replaced one of the differential locks
  • All new wheel bearings
  • New rotors and pads
  • Recent wires and plugs
  • AWD system flush
  • Brake system flush
  • Replaced every oil line except line from filter housing to engine case

What he left for me to take care of:
  • Front sunroof seal needs replaced
  • Driver door seal needs replaced
  • Left hood hing needs to be replaced
  • Right outer tie rod has some play