Oil Colorant Heresy

Search this Thread

Old 08-19-2003, 02:50 PM
TMH
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Oil Colorant Heresy

O.K., so I am new to Porsche ownership having had my 964 for less than a year. I know how and when to check my oil, but I have a great deal of difficulty in reading the level on the dipstick. Changing oil at the recommended frequencies means that it is always pretty clean, which contributes to the difficulty in reading the dipstick level. I have read posts all over about oil additives, and it seems like the general consensus is to not use additives - They are not necessary and may have some detrimental effects.

However has anyone ever pursued looking at an oil colorant to improve dipstick readibility? What might be safe for use in our engines, but would give that little extra bit of contrast on the dipstick for accurate oil level readings?

Please be gentle on me... Remember, new guy.

Tom
Old 08-19-2003, 02:54 PM
Adrian
Addict
Lead Rennlist
Technical Advisor
Rennlist
Lifetime Member

Received 16 Likes on 16 Posts

Dear Tom,
The easy answer to this is no. Oils are full of additives. I have never had any problems with reading the dipstick to be quite honest. It is a pain sometimes I agree.
Adding foreign additives to oil can cause some unusual things to happen.
Ciao,
Adrian
964C4

PS: Maybe you are checking your oil too much. You have many indications inside to advise you of the basic level of your oil. Too much checking of the oil can lead to overfilling and damaging the dipstick gasket which causes an air leak and engine running problems.
Old 08-19-2003, 02:58 PM
Johnny G Pipe
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 44 Likes on 18 Posts

Welcome Tom. We're all gentle folk on the 964 forum, you know.
Yes! This is a pain in the bum. Do other cars using fully synth have the same problem, or is it 'cos of the needle-thin 8 mile long 911 dipstick?