Sponsored by:

Air filter box help

Search this Thread

Old 04-06-2013, 05:07 PM
gray635
Rennlist Member

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Air filter box help

I'll be the first to acknowledge that I'm no mechanic, but I've spent a frustrating morning on what I thought would be the simple task of replacing my stock air filter. I've wrenched on plenty of old BMWs (got a 1988 M5 and and 1985 M635CSi now and on both of those cars, you've got to remove the entire air filter box/AFM assembly to do the replacement, but still very straightforward).

Anyway, this has got to be one of the all-time poorest automotive designs for access (or lack thereof) to a standard service component. Almost no clearance. I finally took the AFM/air filter box assembly off and discovered that both of the tabs on the inner half of the air filter box had broken and would not hold the clamps, one of which was missing anyway.

So after some twisting and forcing, I finally got the air filter box back on the car, held in place with only the two outside clamps, with the rear obviously poorly sealed. I've done some searching but cannot find an aftermarket solution for replacing the entire air filter box in my car. I am very reluctant to use a cone K&N but may have to go that route. Looks like FabSpeed sells a cut-out filter frame but, because of the broken tabs on the inner half of my box, I'd have to replace that to use the FabSpeed piece. Any suggestions from the forum would be much appreciated!
Old 04-06-2013, 05:28 PM
greg1990964
Three Wheelin'

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts