Sponsored by:

964 CCU fuse problems

Search this Thread

Old 10-17-2012, 06:07 PM
rsathre
Track Day

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 964 CCU fuse problems

Hi everyone. I'm new to this forum. Actually I'm new to porsche ownership.

I have a 1990 C4 Cab

Intermittently the 30 amp fuse for the fan blower keeps blowing. I replace the fuse, and it works fine. One thing that seems to make the fuse blow is trying to turn the system off when the key is in accessory position rather than when the engine is running. Any ideas?

Raghu
Old 10-17-2012, 07:10 PM
Rocket Rob
IHI KING!
Rennlist Member

Received 222 Likes on 176 Posts

How comfortable are you at working on your car? I would want you to remove the rear blower to inspect the motor's bearings. I suspect yours is getting iffy and occasionally blowing the fuse. If this is the case, you can replace it. To remove the blower is pretty easy (less than 15 minutes). You will need a screw driver to remove a few hose clamps and a 10mm socket & ratchet to remove the blower itself.
Old 10-18-2012, 04:00 AM
Bertrand
Advanced

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

First, what exactly do you mean by 'trying to turn the system off'?
So the key is in the accessory position. Then what do you do, step by step?
Old 10-18-2012, 04:18 PM
rsathre
Track Day

Lets say, the fan motor switch is in position 1, 2, or 3 (not 0) . I turn the key to accessory position 1 or 2. Before I crank, I try to turn the fan speed switch to 0. —> blown fuse.

The other time it blew was when fan motor switch was in position 1, I cranked the engine, motor did not immediately rank, and I recranked the ignition…blown fuse
Old 10-18-2012, 05:00 PM
max3.2
Instructor

the 30A fuses the ballast and the fan, right? so check those. pull the ballast and see if it got any cracks. if its still in position...