Search this Thread

Old 07-15-2012, 10:46 PM
littlehandegan
Rennlist Member

Received 3 Likes on 1 Post
Default New guy looking for a 964...

Hello!

I am very new to the Porsche world.

I have owned plenty of cars but never a Porsche. I have always loved the 930's and 964's and I am ready to pull the trigger on a clean daily driver.

Any threads I should read? Or specific's to look for?

Thanks guys!
Old 07-15-2012, 11:36 PM
Makmov
Drifting

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Read them all and don't start with a turbo.
Old 07-16-2012, 12:04 AM
jellonailer
Rennlist Member

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts

^ unless you have a ****ty life and have nothing to live for ignore above...

Otherwise that is good advise.

My first P-Car was a 965. The salesman told me if I make it past 30 days I would "probably" be alright. He was pretty close to being right on the money. I had huge respect for the car and did D.E.'s, and a few near misses.

Good advice.
Old 07-16-2012, 12:13 AM
sml
Three Wheelin'

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

very tough .. Makmov gives some of the best advice here ... obviously the above is somewhat tongue-in-cheek.
Old 07-16-2012, 12:15 AM
oldskews4
Rennlist Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Get a RSA if budget allows. The best 964 sold the US in my opinion. Resale will also be very very strong.
Old 07-16-2012, 12:34 AM
Vandit
Nordschleife Master

Received 48 Likes on 36 Posts

I started it up like this

Amazon Amazon

Amazon Amazon

and reading through these forum a lot too.
Old 07-16-2012, 12:37 AM
Makmov
Drifting

Originally Posted by jellonailer
^ unless you have a ****ty life and have nothing to live for ignore above...

Otherwise that is good advise.

My first P-Car was a 965. The salesman told me if I make it past 30 days I would "probably" be alright. He was pretty close to being right on the money. I had huge respect for the car and did D.E.'s, and a few near misses.

Good advice.
Yeah, they didn't call them widow makers for no reason.