Sponsored by:

QUESTION FOR RS EXPERTS

Search this Thread

Old 02-02-2011, 05:55 PM
MRH
Instructor

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default QUESTION FOR RS EXPERTS

Can one of the RS experts offer any insight on this car?

http://www.finecars.cc/en/detail/car...cache=1&ret=63

I was ready to dismiss it as an RS but there are a few things that made me give it a second look. Does anyone know the car? Thanks.

Mark
Old 02-02-2011, 06:03 PM
rocketdogbert
Advanced

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Doesn't look like any Euro RS I've ever seen.

As far as I know, the only 964 widebody RS is the 3.8, and it's not one of them.

The interior is wrong as well

John
Old 02-02-2011, 06:19 PM
Laker
Drifting

Received 18 Likes on 16 Posts

Adrian's book, page 29 mentions a 1992 Carrera RS Touring, which wasn't stripped (A/C, Sunroof, headlight washers, DMF, power steering electric mirrors "and many other comfort items"), the picture in the book is not that of a widebody

and I'm no expert, just the book owner ;-)

Last edited by Laker; 02-03-2011 at 08:45 AM.
Old 02-02-2011, 11:01 PM
MRH
Instructor

Thanks John and Laker, I just ordered a copy of Adrians book. I first thought it was a C4 widebody with a few RS touches. But the more I look at it the more it has that feel of being "right". The deleted rear seats and the lightweight rear carpets look legit. Also, the front seats appear to be tri-colored. I have seen those seats in an RS Touring before. Lastly, it sure looks like the diff. lock switch on the center console is missing making this a two wheel drive car. Interesting...... I have made several inquiries to the seller but no reply.
Old 02-03-2011, 12:33 AM
Laker
Drifting

Received 18 Likes on 16 Posts

Originally Posted by MRH
.... I have made several inquiries to the seller but no reply.

Is the date of the advert ---> 10/19/2008 ? That could explain it
Old 02-03-2011, 04:18 AM
Unkle
Pro