Notices
964 Forum 1989-1994
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Flywheel inspection pics...replace or resurface?

Search this Thread

Old 10-21-2009, 07:18 PM
kylejohnston1
Racer

Received 12 Likes on 7 Posts
Default Flywheel inspection pics...replace or resurface?

I am replacing the clutch in my 91 C2 and I am trying to decide what to do about the flywheel. This is my first time to replace a clutch, so I am not real sure what to look for on the flywheel. There are no cracks, but it apprears that there are significant heat markings to me. I've included pics of the clutch disc so everyone can see what kind of shape it was in as well. The clutch would slip badly under "spirited" acceleration in all gears.

Should I replace the flywheel with the clutch or just get it resurfaced? If resurfacing is the answer, are there any suggestions on where to get this done? I am almost certain I just have the standard dual mass flywheel...no light weight or aftermarket flywheel in the pictures, right?

Thanks for the help!

Kyle
Houston, TX
Attached Images      
Old 10-21-2009, 09:51 PM
993Porsche
Burning Brakes

Received 34 Likes on 10 Posts

Although it looks pretty good, but I wouldn't chance it.

Ken
Old 10-21-2009, 10:51 PM
J richard
Rennlist Member

Received 39 Likes on 28 Posts

Hard to tell from the pic but it looks like you've run down to the rivets at some point and since it has a spring centere disk it's hard to say how many cycles are on it... I'd pull it and check it for flatness the condition of the dual mass and have it resurfaced. If it's light wear you can scuff it with a scotchbright pad and mount it up. But it's a pain to pull it all out again if it chatters on you... So I'd at least check it...Are there any ridges that are deep enough to catch a fingernail on?
Old 10-21-2009, 10:55 PM
Colin 90 C2
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

the flywheel looks like it may have some scoring. can you catch a fingernail on it if you drag it from outside to inside?