Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Polishing/Waxing reccomendations?

Search this Thread

Old 05-21-2007, 09:32 AM
Megatron-UK
Burning Brakes

Received 47 Likes on 35 Posts
Default Polishing/Waxing reccomendations?

Hi, I'm after some reccomendations for polishing compounds and waxes for my 964T. It's metallic pearl black (with clearcoat I believe), which looks great when clean, but it suffers quite badly from swirl marks and also a few light scratches around the front end.... it's especially noticeable in strong sunlight.

I'm picking up one of those ubiquitous Porter Cables and a set of pads, but I've no experience in car detailing.

Can someone recommend...

1. A good polish that will get rid of the swirl marks
2. A fine polish to get a nice even finish
3. A good quality wax suitable for dark metallic colours

It seems as if I wash and polish it one weekend (using something like Autoglym super resin polish), and it's scarmy, swirly and filthy dirty by the next!

Finally, how do others try to clean up their stone gaurds on their arches (fenders) and the plastic 'sharks fin'? Mine is peppered with stone chips... is it worthwhile trying to machine polish that as well?
Old 05-21-2007, 11:30 AM
robmug
Rennlist Member

Received 6 Likes on 2 Posts

Hi - Zaino products are the best, in my view.

Z-PC in conjunction with your Porter Cable will provide a great result, then you can go straight to Z5 or Z2 (I personally use Z5 as it prevents swirl marks from reappearing).

I am biased though, so do a search and see what others think - you'll struggle to find anything oither than positive comments though.

Your comment about how long your fibnish currently lasts will always apply if you use Autoglym or Zymol (or any other carnauba wax) as wax just has no longevity - especially if your car is taken outdoors at all. (Plenty don't!)