Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

The Demon Salt

Search this Thread

Old 12-06-2004 | 05:53 PM
dove
Banned

Default The Demon Salt

Now that I use my car as an everyday driver I'm getting a bit paraniod about the salt thats being put down on the frozen roads and the damage it is doing to my car.Any tips from owners who use their cars all year round on how to protect from salt damage?
Paul
Old 12-06-2004 | 06:47 PM
springer3
Addict
Rennlist Member

Paul:

Buy a beater, and keep the 964 off the salty roads. Rust never sleeps, especially if you let it get started.

If you must drive on salty roads. a good cleaning afterward helps. You really can't get into the nooks and crannies where salt residue hides, and you have a hard time protecting the engine and wiring harness. Good news is the 964 is pretty well made, and will survive better than most. Just expect a few more problems, and a little more maintenance over time.
Old 12-07-2004 | 04:43 AM
dove
Banned

I agree springer,I think i'll buy a reliable wreck to use over the winter months.
Old 12-07-2004 | 05:07 AM
Christer
Race Car

an H reg Corolla should do the trick...
Old 12-07-2004 | 09:05 AM
Johnny G Pipe
Addict
Rennlist Member

Damage caused by lack of use vs. damage caused by salt residue..?
These cars need their exercise, like all thoroughbreds.

I got my car waxoyled when I bought it, and I wash the car/hose down wheelarch/brakes, followed by a run 'round the block, after a salty run - 'tho its dry at the moment :-)

My other cars make do with waste oil sprayed underneath by my local garage every year or two. Cheaper, and better in some ways than waxoyl, but messy at first..!
Old 12-07-2004 | 09:10 AM
johnfm
Drifting

Just drive the Porsche. Really, I've not known anyone to stress so much about a car. They're really well engineered - go and enjoy the bloody thing..

(Do I sound like Ray Calvo??)
Old 12-07-2004 | 11:24 AM
Johnny G Pipe
Addict
Rennlist Member

Hey, but it makes awfully pretty patterns..