Erratic Cold Idle

Search this Thread

Old 01-04-2004, 06:26 PM
andyd
2nd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Red face Erratic Cold Idle

Hi All,

I’m quite new to 964 ownership, but it’s all going well so far and having loads of fun with it!

One minor problem, the engine’s idle speed oscillates. By the time it’s warm it is barely noticeable but when the engine is cold then it can be quite bad and it makes it difficult to pull away smoothly at the first couple of junctions. I’ve had a quick poke around, disconnected the battery to reset the ECU and cleaned the idle value and it has made no difference. Is this a common fault? I’ve searched the 964 forum, but couldn’t find any references to idle problems accept where a lightweight flywheel had been installed. Any suggestions? It’s not really a serious problem, but it’s a bit embarrassing stalling your shiny Porsche!!

Thanks in advance,

Andrew
Old 01-04-2004, 06:38 PM
John Boggiano
Addict
Rennlist
Lifetime Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

There's a whole shedload of possibilities, but you might try a look at the air-metering flap just beyound the air filter. The contacts on it can get oily/old.
Old 01-04-2004, 07:56 PM
garrett376
RL Community Team
Rennlist Member

Received 608 Likes on 464 Posts

Oscillating how much? From the books/posts I've read 880RPM (as an idle speed) with a little variation of +-40 (as noted by John below) is WNL (within normal limits). I think that if it stalls you out just idling, then you've got trouble; but some moving around is normal according to this discussion forum and Adrian's book.

Otherwise my car is broken, too! The engine speed moves around a bit when it's cold, but never stalls on its own. I've stalled it when I first got it, as it's a much heavier clutch than my 65!

Last edited by garrett376; 01-05-2004 at 04:09 PM.
Old 01-05-2004, 03:01 AM
John Boggiano
Addict
Rennlist
Lifetime Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Garrett,