87 951 VEMS Install - Page 3 - Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums

Notices

87 951 VEMS Install

Old 05-01-2017, 09:56 PM
  #31  
NCLA951
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 457
Default

I ran ran mine through the shifter foam, as the lead wasn't long enough to go through the firewall. It's still a bit short so I may lengthen it. There's only so much tail on the Bosch sensor side, and I wanted to get that connection inside, but on the VEMS side I might make it a little longer to accommodate my interior routing under the radio.

Originally Posted by running_cold924 View Post
Hey Sam, quick question, what hole did you use to run the plug connector for the wideband O2? Is there one big enough on the firewall?
NCLA951 is offline  
Old 05-02-2017, 01:16 AM
  #32  
running_cold924
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
running_cold924's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Bedford PA
Posts: 484
Default

Ah! There's an idea! I did buy a cable lengthen the O2 sensor connector about 5 feet so this may work perfectly! Also how far after the turbo did you install the sensor? Is a foot after too close?
running_cold924 is offline  
Old 05-02-2017, 01:30 AM
  #33  
NCLA951
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 457
Default

I just went off of the LR pics, right where the main exhaust bends toward the WG dump installed bung there 45 deg upwards of level.

Originally Posted by running_cold924 View Post
Ah! There's an idea! I did buy a cable lengthen the O2 sensor connector about 5 feet so this may work perfectly! Also how far after the turbo did you install the sensor? Is a foot after too close?
NCLA951 is offline  
Old 05-02-2017, 02:19 AM
  #34  
SamGrant951
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
SamGrant951's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 10,706
Default

I ran mine through the factory wiring harness rubber plug on the firewall. I didnt have much luck de-pinning the WB02 plug (its quite large to try and get through the firewall) so I just cut it and re-pinned with a new connector I bought after I pulled the wire through. I had plenty wire to route the cable.
SamGrant951 is offline  
Old 05-02-2017, 09:58 AM
  #35  
running_cold924
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
running_cold924's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Bedford PA
Posts: 484
Default

Okay, so at least 2 good options here, thanks guys. I do have a bung about a foot after the turbo for an O2 sensor and I already have a wideband (aem kit) on the main pipe bend under the car. I guess if the sensor doesn't last long closer to the turbo it'll get moved. I just need to get this car up and running, it's so rich right now with the maf kit.

So what are you guys using to run the VEMs? I did get the Bluetooth for smart phone connectivity but thinking I may want to get a small notepad or laptop dedicated to the car.
running_cold924 is offline  
Old 05-02-2017, 11:13 AM
  #36  
SamGrant951
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
SamGrant951's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 10,706
Default

I bought an Lenovo thinkpad X220 12.5", came with windows 7 pro installed, only cost about $150 on eBay, has bluetooth. Works perfect for this application, Peep recommended it. I also picked up an 8" Asus zenpad to monitor everything without laptop.
SamGrant951 is offline  
Old 05-02-2017, 01:20 PM
  #37  
V2Rocket
Rainman
Rennlist Member
 
V2Rocket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Posts: 41,915
Default

i just bought a bluetooth USB dongle for my small laptop that i use anyways.
V2Rocket is offline  
Old 05-07-2017, 07:32 PM
  #38  
running_cold924
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
running_cold924's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Bedford PA
Posts: 484
Default

Ok, got mine up and running today, it idles but surges pretty bad. Just up and down, up and down. It does staet way better so far. Where on the VEMs site is the app you download? I see they have nightly releases and stable releases...What's the difference?
running_cold924 is offline  
Old 05-07-2017, 10:22 PM
  #39  
running_cold924
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
running_cold924's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Bedford PA
Posts: 484
Default

Figured it out now I just need the pin. Nevermind, had an assist...

Thanks Sam for the help!

Last edited by running_cold924; 05-08-2017 at 09:56 AM.
running_cold924 is offline  
Old 05-08-2017, 04:45 AM
  #40  
ealoken
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 864
Default

Nice, standalone is great, i just got my 951 started yesterday.

But what ignition tables do you run ?
ealoken is offline  
Old 05-08-2017, 11:59 AM
  #41  
NCLA951
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 457
Default

I just run Raceboy's spark tables he sent with it, haven't tweaked them yet, but will when he is in LA tuning.

I used the latest stable version, haven't tried the nightly versions.

Re: idle surge, do you have an IAC hooked up and you're sure there's no air leaks? Could be a few things but working through all the idle options you might discover something. Any trigger errors?
NCLA951 is offline  
Old 05-08-2017, 12:48 PM
  #42  
running_cold924
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
running_cold924's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Bedford PA
Posts: 484
Default

Yes, still have the iac hooked up, was running fine on m-tune, no changes other than some plug and play stuff with the VEMs. It starts out smooth then about 30 seconds into startup is when the idles starts to surge.

Can you make changes with the Bluetooth or do you have to actually connect into it with the cable?
running_cold924 is offline  
Old 05-08-2017, 12:58 PM
  #43  
ealoken
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 864
Default

Originally Posted by running_cold924 View Post
Yes, still have the iac hooked up, was running fine on m-tune, no changes other than some plug and play stuff with the VEMs. It starts out smooth then about 30 seconds into startup is when the idles starts to surge.

Can you make changes with the Bluetooth or do you have to actually connect into it with the cable?
What Does your charge table And idle controll table Looks like
ealoken is offline  
Old 05-08-2017, 01:02 PM
  #44  
NCLA951
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 457
Default

You can do everything with the Bluetooth laptop connection.


Originally Posted by ealoken View Post
What Does your charge table And idle controll table Looks like
NCLA951 is offline  
Old 05-08-2017, 03:19 PM
  #45  
running_cold924
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
running_cold924's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Bedford PA
Posts: 484
Default

Ok cool. Talked with Peep, gotta reverse the polarity in VEMs for the IAC valve, should fix the idle surge.
running_cold924 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: 87 951 VEMS Install


Contact Us Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: