Sponsored by: Clore Automotive

a-tune questions

Search this Thread

Old 08-25-2012, 05:34 PM
951Roadrunner
Rennlist Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default a-tune questions

I think i am short on knowledge here. My stock 1986 951 has dme and klr boxes. The rogue system has a chip fir the dme box and adds a boost sensor right? So what parameters are being measured? What does the klr box do in stock situatiin and in the a-tune situation?
I am in podunk albuquerque nm and i am NOT a mechanic.
I have a porche certified mechanic suggesting that my first modification should be to put in the 944 n/a cam in to make the 951 breath better. Then, do chip set such as those for dme and klr such as from LR. This apprach seems contrary to what others on RL have spoken of.
I dont have nearly the knowledge to intelligently debate this with a certified porsche mechanic.
Any help would be appreciated!!!
Old 08-25-2012, 05:44 PM
Rogue_Ant
Addict
Rennlist Member

Rennlist
Small Business Partner

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

The KLR's primary function is to listen for engine knock, and if it hears knock, it will pull out ignition timing to help reduce knock.
The KLR's secondary function is to control boost pressure via the cycling valve (CV).

Yes, the A-Tune adds a pressure sensor. So we measure everything that the factory does (airflow, coolant temp, air temp, ect) and now we measure boost pressure too.

The KLR functionality does not change with the A-Tune. It is a good system for listening to the engine and determining knock. The reason we do not typically supply a KLR chip is that all KLR chips only served to increase boost pressure... Most of the time, people use a manual or electronic boost controller, bypassing that part of the KLR's functionality - rendering a non-stock KLR chip pointless.
Old 08-25-2012, 05:54 PM
White_951
Rennlist Member

First of all, I think your mechanic has offered some sound advice, although I would also add the LR 3" exhaust...