Test Pipe Repair/Install advice - Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums

Notices

Test Pipe Repair/Install advice

 
Old 11-22-2010, 11:51 AM
  #1  
86 951 Driver
Super User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: KC, MO
Posts: 3,637
Default Test Pipe Repair/Install advice

What could i do with my testpipe. The one flange is busted off. My car is an 86 and doesn't have a flange on the wastegate pipe. How Could I make this so I can bolt this up and go. Would a V Band clamp be a good idea?



86 951 Driver is offline  
Old 11-22-2010, 12:57 PM
  #2  
TX951
User
 
TX951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 240
Default

I'd just sawzall that broken piece off and put a lap band clamp on it. Should be <$10.
TX951 is offline  
Old 11-22-2010, 01:13 PM
  #3  
Darwantae951
Retouched
Rennlist Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 10,835
Default

That is the first time I have ver seen that kind of failure.
Darwantae951 is offline  
Old 11-22-2010, 01:35 PM
  #4  
86 951 Driver
Super User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: KC, MO
Posts: 3,637
Default

I want to be able to bolt this up and unbolt it when I have emissions testing and what not. So a way that woudn't make it reversible would be great.
86 951 Driver is offline  
Old 11-22-2010, 02:57 PM
  #5  
Keithr726
Super User
 
Keithr726's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Napa Valley and Berkeley
Posts: 5,105
Default

Burch testpipes come with a cheap paint coating that comes off in no time resulting in rust. I have one for my 86 that is the non-flange type that uses a crush ring.
Keithr726 is offline  
Old 11-22-2010, 03:11 PM
  #6  
Darwantae951
Retouched
Rennlist Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 10,835
Default

You don't have to remove the test pipe, just buy a slip in cat. A lot easier!
Darwantae951 is offline  
Old 11-22-2010, 04:23 PM
  #7  
Scott H
User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 1,598
Default

I would take it to an exhaust shop and see if they can help you. They should be able to remove that flange, and give you another to slip on the other piece. Or just chop it and use one of those exhuast clamps that slip over the tubing that you can buy at Napa, Autozone, etc. It's just the wastegate, it isn't 100% imperative to have good seal.
Scott H is offline  
Old 11-22-2010, 04:48 PM
  #8  
86 951 Driver
Super User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: KC, MO
Posts: 3,637
Default

Originally Posted by ModdedEverything951S View Post
You don't have to remove the test pipe, just buy a slip in cat. A lot easier!
Whats a slip in cat?
86 951 Driver is offline  
Old 11-22-2010, 04:56 PM
  #9  
PorscheDoc
Addict
Rennlist Member


Rennlist
Site Sponsor
 
PorscheDoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Under Your Car
Posts: 8,016
Default

If you need to swap it in and out for emissions inspections, I would just take the stock pipe off, hollow out the cat chamber with a big long bipe and hammer, and reinstall it. That way it will look stock with just no internals in it. You don't want to be bolting and unbolting that pipe from the turbo downpipe alot, that is asking for trouble with broken studs, etc.
PorscheDoc is offline  
Old 11-22-2010, 08:54 PM
  #10  
Darwantae951
Retouched
Rennlist Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 10,835
Default

I didn't realize your test pipe has a permanent cat delete section. Most come with it as a separate slip on piece. As Doc said, you don't want to be removing that piece all the time, if not for the PITA it is, but for studs as stated. Get a different test pipe (that way it is in way better condition and you also have the option to run a cat for emissions testing).
Darwantae951 is offline  
Old 11-23-2010, 11:45 AM
  #11  
86 951 Driver
Super User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: KC, MO
Posts: 3,637
Default

Would it be stupid to have some flanges put in where the cat is and then have a place make a small testpipe?
86 951 Driver is offline  
Old 11-23-2010, 04:25 PM
  #12  
Darwantae951
Retouched
Rennlist Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 10,835
Default

The least headache route would be to buy a new or used testpipe.
Darwantae951 is offline  
Old 11-23-2010, 04:33 PM
  #13  
86 951 Driver
Super User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: KC, MO
Posts: 3,637
Default

I would like to clarify that emission testing is done once every 2 years. Its just a visual inspection. So I don't know if I would have to swap in a cat as the car is getting old enough that they may not care. I bought this testpipe thinking that I could use it. I would like to use it if possible, but if not then I may just have a shop make a custom testpipe on that could be swapped just for the cat converter.
86 951 Driver is offline  
Old 11-24-2010, 10:05 PM
  #14  
GreyDog
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
GreyDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Clinton, CT
Posts: 225
Default

Mine has a flared end (no flange unless it was cut off perhaps) and I used a band clamp and it had a donut gasket in there. Kinda weird, probably a kluge from a PO, but it works OK.
GreyDog is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us About Us Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: