Search this Thread

Old 07-30-2009, 11:51 PM
ShApE
Burning Brakes

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Why is this?!?! (RANT)

Why do these pulleys cost $186.00

and these plugs for a balance shaft delete kit cost $200.00

I'm not an expert when it comes to machining but I don't see how materials plus the machining adds up to 200 dollars for these plugs.

Not bashing anybody, I realize you gotta make money but this just seems a little crazy.
Old 07-30-2009, 11:55 PM
Skip Wolfe
Rennlist Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Volume - I assume they sell a lot more pulley kits than bs deletes.
Old 07-30-2009, 11:57 PM
ShApE
Burning Brakes

Ok I was being a little unfair. It's $186.00 for 2 of the pulleys and 387.00 for the whole set. I just have a hard time paying 200 dollars for something so small just cus no one else makes it.
Old 07-31-2009, 12:04 AM
David Floyd
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Supply/Demand simple economics
Old 07-31-2009, 12:14 AM
JET951
Drifting

Received 98 Likes on 49 Posts

Well if they are the only ones making it(could be other) i think they can charge what they like. its not as if you have to purchase them. you could try and make 1 set of each and see how much that will cost you? I realise we dont have many aftermarket supplies for these cars, but it could be worse... we may have none.
Old 07-31-2009, 12:18 AM
V2Rocket
Rainman
Rennlist Member

Received 647 Likes on 501 Posts

i think more r/d goes into making even those pulleys than you realize
Old 07-31-2009, 01:02 AM
m73m95
Nordschleife Master

Received 7 Likes on 5 Posts

Originally Posted by V2Rocket_aka944
i think more r/d goes into making even those pulleys than you realize
Exactly. You're not only paying for the actual parts, but you're paying for the time it took to design them.
Old 07-31-2009, 01:49 AM
theedge
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

CNC time isnt cheap. Its cheaper per pc to do 1000 parts than 100 or 10.
Old 07-31-2009, 03:27 AM
eniac