Search this Thread

Old 10-07-2008, 09:48 PM
Depape
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Lightbulb DIY chip tuning... ?

Hey guys,

Just gauging some interest......

I've been working on a turbo build for my bmw M52 motor and just got into messing around with tuning the stock ecu. I've started deciphering the hex code in the stock .bin file from the ecu (chip) to try and figure out whats going on inside the ECU. Once everythig is deciphered the ecu can be tweaked/tuned by changing values in the tables and reburning a chip. All this would cost less than $100 (but dyno time and a datalogger would be ideal). This has been done for OBD1 BMW ECU's and Some pre 90's 911's (and of course the whole domestic scene).

Im by no means an expert on this, as I've only been looking into it over the past month, but I'd like to know if anyone has looked into reburning chips your self or if anyone has done this for our P-cars?
I'm sure if we get enough people to work together we can figure this out.

Im also just gauging interest into how many people would be willing to figure this out. It'd be more of a DIY apporach and let you have more flexiblity (or opportunities for error :P ).

I know this is kinda vauge, but I'd be more than happy to explain what i know so far and link you to some BMW threads.

Thanks!
-Pieter
Old 10-07-2008, 11:24 PM
RolexNJ
Addict
Lifetime Rennlist

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by Depape
Im by no means an expert on this, as I've only been looking into it over the past month, but I'd like to know if anyone has looked into reburning chips your self or if anyone has done this for our P-cars? I'm sure if we get enough people to work together we can figure this out. Im also just gauging interest into how many people would be willing to figure this out. It'd be more of a DIY apporach and let you have more flexiblity.