Interesting dilema...

Search this Thread

Old 05-06-2006, 02:55 AM
Mighty Shilling
Wax On, Wax Off
Rennlist Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Interesting dilema...

Hokay. you guys know about the Turbo S that I'm contemplating buying... However the fact that it might need a clutch is scary to me... also is the fact that hey, it's 20 friggin years old. things will break, things will cost me money...which I don't have a lot of right now... I'm coming to you guys, the turbo forum, to let me know your thoughts. I'm aware that you'll be biased, but hey, that's what Rennlist is about...

Here's my situation... I'm a college grad as of sunday. I have no source of income other than my Auto detailing business. business is slow, hence my trips to california, but I digress... I'm also planning on looking for police departments here shortly, so I'll be making $45,000.00 a year if I'm hired on.

Now, I've got the 924S. I'm planning on holding on to that for a good while longer. it's a great car, but right now is high maintinance.

Based on my situation, I'm contemplating a cheapish sporty, not quite economy, but nothing that'll break the bank car that has a warrantee... such as a new GTI or MINI Cooper S. I'm thinking I'll spend around $20,000.00, for something fun, that's under warrantee... Whereas the Turbo S is going to cost me $12,500.00, not under warrantee, and I cannot secure a loan for that much on the car... (the most I can get is $11,270 at 5.7% APR...good rates, I know...)

Now, as much as I live and breath Porsche, I don't know if I can trust the 924S as a DD anymore, and I'm pretty sure the 951S is a similar story... things break, I understand, and I probably won't be able to afford to have one or both cars down for a bit...the 924S needs a good engine reseal (including the oil pump to block Loctite stuff) so it'd be best to pull the engine for that...

Based upon my situation, what would you do?