Electronic vs. Mechcanical boost control

Search this Thread

Old 08-25-2005, 02:51 PM
J_Kapp
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Electronic vs. Mechcanical boost control

Hi all,

As you can see I am new to rennlist. So far it has been very helpful for me. I got good response on my first post on buying tips. I actually just bought an 86' 951 from a rennlist member. I can't wait to pick it up next week in Mass and drive it home! I'm looking forward to my first speeding ticket.

Anyways to the point of all this. The car I'm getting is basically stock except for and exhaust and a Lindsey boost enhancer. I was on Lindsey's site and they had a mechanical boost control for pretty cheap. I talked to my friend about this and he said that electronic boost control is the way to go. What are the advantages/ disadvantages of both? He also mention that I might want to think about a dual port wastegate. The stock one is single. What does this mean?

The point of all this is that I would like to lower my boost pressure for winter driving (hence the dual port wastegate... I think) and be able to raise it if I do autocross/track days. If I could get some info that would really help a lot
Old 08-25-2005, 03:16 PM
mroberts
Burning Brakes

Someone's gonna flame you, so I'll tell you nicely. "Search" is your friend. That topic has been beaten to death many, many times.
Old 08-25-2005, 03:20 PM
awilson40
Three Wheelin'

While I like my electronic controller, its a fun gadget to play with.
I noticed very little if any performance benefit over a good MBC.
Old 08-25-2005, 04:23 PM
Mike1982
Drifting

Yea, I had my car on the dyno before with the Reli-boost (manual boost controller) and it has no spikes and good build of up boost. The curve on the dyno plot is perfect, builds then flat across!
Old 08-25-2005, 04:27 PM
azmi951
Drifting

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

What is the lowest pressure you can achieve with the stock WG?