Cost of Ownership

Search this Thread

Old 12-13-2004 | 09:07 AM
aceonline
2nd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Cost of Ownership

Hi guys,

I'm new to the 951 world, but am looking at purchasing an 86 951. However, I'm on a somewhat tight budget and so I was wondering what the average cost of ownership of one of these cars is per year assuming most maintenance was done by the owner. Now I know this dollar ammount varies greatly depending on the car, but I would like to get just a general idea of how much you guys spend per year on maintenance for the car (mostly just parts). This does not include performance upgrades, but rather preventative maintenance/fixing stuff. I'm looking at purchasing one that has all of it's service records and is around 100k miles so at this moment it seems to be in fairly sound mechanical condition.

Thanks in advance,
Brian
Old 12-13-2004 | 09:14 AM
Zackb911
Racer

If everything is as it should be my guess is <$1000 a year if you do the work yourself. I think that is the key part to 951 ownership having work done is VERY expensive alot of local places charge 80-90hr. to work on them. Also there are the usual expensive items clutch(~$2000shop rate), belt and water pump job(~$1000 shop), etc.. If it is upto par though and you do the work yourself I think they are a great value but keep in mind these are 14-18 year old cars... If you tell us where your from maybe you can meet up with some local guys and get a better idea.
Good Luck!

Zack
Old 12-13-2004 | 09:49 AM
Chris White
Addict
Rennlist Member

Rennlist Small
Business Sponsor

Received 37 Likes on 28 Posts

I would guess that my budget is about $5k per year for the street car…..
Of course that includes track tires, several sets of brake pads, try a different turbo or two, some funds towards a ‘bigger better’ engine…
If you really want to go racing figure on $10k a year…