Notices
944 Turbo and Turbo-S Forum 1982-1991
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Clore Automotive

Stupid question - BUT I'm new to the 951!

Search this Thread

Old 07-20-2004 | 10:26 AM
highboy
Rennlist Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Stupid question - BUT I'm new to the 951!

not to sound ignorant BUT I am fairly new to the 951 and turbo cars in genereal:

1) what does a manuel boost control (MBC) do?
2) where does it go?

And, are there other modifications you should do if you are installing a MBC?

thanks
tom
Old 07-20-2004 | 11:25 AM
toddk911
Drive-by provocation guy
Rennlist Member

The MBC is like a check valve in that it is plumbed into the wastegate line from the Banjo bolt. (this is the 90 degree elbow on that IC pipe on the left side of the intercooler) It's purpose to to hold to a certain psi of boost before opening and thus allowing the wastegate to open.

If you install it and run more than what ever boost you are set up to run, you would need new chips (to add more fuel to the aditional boost/air you just put into the motor) and an aftermarket boost guage, as the stock guage has been found to be fairly inaccurate, and at least, hard to read in specific psi.
Old 07-20-2004 | 12:38 PM
hosrom_951
UAE Rennlist Ambassador
Rennlist Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

You WOULD need a boost gauge to prevent you from over boosting, which leads to blowing a head gasket.

Second, You can't just add a boost comtroller, since the factory computer has a boost limit of 12psi or something.

Over that, you NEED chips that are tuned for say 15psi or more.

If you get 18psi chips, and run say 15 psi of boost, then you are going rich, since more fuel is added and you are not using the boost.

If you have 15psi chips and go for 18psi of boost, then your running lean, where too little fuel is burning.
Old 07-20-2004 | 01:41 PM
highboy
Rennlist Member