oil pan gasket replacment

Search this Thread

Old 03-09-2004, 05:45 PM
skene
Burning Brakes

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default oil pan gasket replacment

Hi,
I'm new to rennlist and recently (as in last November) bought an '86 951. I've been poking around the site learning all I can about it as I slowly fixing all the problems with it. I've have finally gotten to the point where I can't really justify putting off fixing my leaky oil pan any longer.
Since I'm going to be taking a good bit of it apart when I change the oil pan gasket, I'm wondering if there is anything else I should look into replacing while I'm at it? The car has 193k miles on it, but was completely rebuilt with an 88 head by the PO around 40k ago.
I also read a couple posts about being able to take the pan off without removing the headers and all the mess up top? If anyone has some suggestions on how to do this, I'd love to hear them. Thanks for help!
Old 03-09-2004, 05:47 PM
turbite
Burning Brakes

I think there was a new product recently made to combat just this problem.
I can't find the link, anyone have it?

ah, here it is:
https://rennlist.com/forums/showthre...hreadid=114722
Old 03-09-2004, 05:54 PM
skene
Burning Brakes

That post is actually what made me think of tackling my gasket next. I'm most likely going to pick one of those up soon, or see how difficult it would be to make myself. I'll be in a shop fabbing something to hold my engine soon anyways.
Old 03-09-2004, 06:01 PM
turbite
Burning Brakes

Welcome to rennlist, btw!
Old 03-09-2004, 06:12 PM
Chris Moon
Advanced

Clark's Garage is where you want to look.

http://www.clarks-garage.com/shop-manual/lube-06.htm

Lindsey makes a 3 piece cross-member, but of course you've got to remove the original to install it.

http://www.lindseyracing.com/Merchan...944CROSSMEMBER

CM
Old 03-09-2004, 06:12 PM
Mike S
Three Wheelin'