Sponsored by: Clore Automotive

upgrades on a budget.

Search this Thread

Old 01-17-2004, 02:27 PM
bronco951
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default upgrades on a budget.

ive been reading a lot lately trying to learn as much as i can and ive seen a million different set ups for the 951, all getting around the same horsepower. from what i understand, chip, wastegate, and upgraded turbo, boost controller are the most basic and will get you 300 rwhp. tehn come bigger injectors, maf, test pipe.
now ive seen people here running all kinds of different turbos, k26-k29, garrets, greddy, and a few others i havent heard of. then theres the chips, weltmiester, gururacing, and a couple others. with or with out a piggy back.
before i found rennlist, all i new of for places to get your 951 power increased was huntley racing and powerhaus. how good are these guys?
any recomendations on where to get the parts? also do most of you guys install this stuff yourself, or have it done? im a mechanic in teh military, and have access to anything i would need to install, if its a straight forward procedure im sure i could do it. but then i read how important fine tuning is to amke the most out of the mods. im assuming youll need to make dyno runs to get this right.
i live just south of boston, MA. do any of you guys know a good place around here that specializes in this type of thing, or are at least familiar with these cars?
Old 01-17-2004, 02:46 PM
Mike1982
Drifting

I have a chip with reliboost in set at 15psi, there is a big difference in just that. That isn't that costly either at $300 from Guru. Next for me is a boost guage then wastegate. After that I am in the market for a turbo to really get that power. I am not looking for high numbers on the HP chart really but more in get that power/spool up sooner. If I could get about 320rwhp with turbo up to full 15psi (don't want to go higher) at 2,600-3k that would be more then I could EVER use unless I raced my car all the time.