Sponsored by: Clore Automotive

Normal turbo sound

Search this Thread

Old 03-09-2018 | 07:17 AM
Manute951
3rd Gear

Default Normal turbo sound

Hello!

I´m a new member here, from Spain, so a salute for all of you, and please excuse my english!

My background is,I have an 86' 951 i bought in a less than perfect state 15 year ago...was not expensive but the poor car was beaten up, eating almost 1 liter oil per 160 miles or so. Imagine...
5 year ago I overhauled it, was a lengthy and very expensive overhaul, a few times the price of the car, iti ncluded new pistons with rings, new transaxle, new turbo (k26/6 since I wanted original specs) head work...etc etc. Quite expensive but I got an almost perfect mechanical state, no oil consumption at all and great performance. I also added a lindsey boost enhancer that really did it's job.

More recently I did some maintenace changing part of the steering, new shocks, new clutch pump, etc. This was the last maintenance, 2 months ago. Not cheap also....

So with this background, here is my question related to the topic...

Yesterday was driving through a tunnel, when I noticed the sound ofthe turbo spooling up and down while accelerating. And I thought "how cool the turbo spooling"... But after exiting the tunnel I turned off the stereo and while accelerating, I still heard the turbo spooling up and down...very subtle, a very light " pssttttt.....psssssst". Then i tought "did I heard this before?? Is this normal?" I kept driving and I still heard the very subtle sound of the turbo spooling up and down. When above 3k rpm, I heard nothing, and at the end of the trip when the car was hot, the sound was even more sobtle, almost non noticeable.

So now I dont know if i'm too paranoid about this...I remember when the car was not repaired and i had the original busted turbo that it was quite noisy, but i cant remember hearing it after the overhaul.