Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

944 vs. 944S--Questions from Prospective Buyer

Search this Thread

Old 01-08-2002, 01:47 AM
BRB_85.5_NA
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Post 944 vs. 944S--Questions from Prospective Buyer

Folks--

So I'm new to this whole game and just learning the mechanics etc. of 944s, but I'm getting a lot out of the board here. I'm looking to buy a 944 primarily as a commuter car, so the extra initial and long term costs of a 951 in my game plan. I've keyed in on a couple 944S's, but after following these posts it seems they have some inherent mechanical problems. I was hoping for a little extra power (but any of these will feel like a crotch rocket after my Land Cruiser), but it looks like it might not be worth it (and you only really get it at high revs, right?).

So, what I'm asking for is some serious CHIMING IN on the differences, pros/cons of the 944 vs. 944S. Keep in mind I'm mechanically inclined (do all the work on my Land Cruiser) but have no experience with 944s (or fuel injection, sports car suspensions, etc. for that matter). If the 944 is the way to go, should I save myself a couple grand and just get a pre-1985.5 model with the funky dash but the same mechanics?

Thanks for the help-
Old 01-08-2002, 02:00 AM
Operator
Three Wheelin'

all i have to say is: get ready for some serious 944S bashing

in the end, honestly, it all depends on what is more important to you. fact is all 944's need to be maintained or they can go kerplunk.

the older pre 85.5 944's are really a steal in terms of $ and what you get for it, basically a 944 just like any other that might be a bit dated but is still a 944 at heart. be prepared to find them in worse condition and require more work over time but hey maybe thats what you are in to