Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Speedometer needle adjustment

 
Old 12-20-2011, 12:08 AM
  #1  
arthropraxis
User
Thread Starter
 
arthropraxis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 846
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Speedometer needle adjustment

My speedometer needle isn't working and it sits below the 0 hash mark by about an inch. The trip meter reset button is working. Is it possible that it is stuck and can be fixed by moving the needle?
arthropraxis is offline  
Old 12-20-2011, 12:17 AM
  #2  
944Ross
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
944Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NM (ABQ)
Posts: 2,238
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Give us a hint -- early or late car? Does the odo move when you drive?
944Ross is offline  
Old 12-20-2011, 12:28 AM
  #3  
arthropraxis
User
Thread Starter
 
arthropraxis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 846
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

It is an 87 turbo. I didn't notice if the odometer was moving. The trip meter reset does work. It was the first time the car has been driven in the two years since it was purchased. The instrument panel has been apart several times, so it is possible it was bumped at some point.
There were so many other things to pay attention to that I almost didn't notice the speedometer not working. I don't have an exhaust system yet, the neighbors loved that.
arthropraxis is offline  
Old 12-20-2011, 11:39 AM
  #4  
fwb42
Addict
Rennlist Member

 
fwb42's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: North Canton,Oh.
Posts: 937
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Because the instrument panel has been removed,it would pay you to recheck the "plug-ins" in the back. May not be seated properly.
fwb42 is offline  
Old 12-20-2011, 01:46 PM
  #5  
arthropraxis
User
Thread Starter
 
arthropraxis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 846
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thanks, I planned on checing the ribbons. All the other gauges work fine. The needle sitting so low is the odd part. I can't find a post that has the same issues.
arthropraxis is offline  
Old 12-20-2011, 10:33 PM
  #6  
arthropraxis
User
Thread Starter
 
arthropraxis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 846
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I read a post that stated the speedometer, sunroof and rear wiper work off of the same fuse. The fuse is fine. I did remove the rear wiper, could that have an effect? Before I tear into the cluster, again, what are the chances it is the speedometer sensor in the transmission? The car has been sitting for two years, maybe it is filled with crud.
arthropraxis is offline  
Old 12-24-2011, 03:22 PM
  #7  
arthropraxis
User
Thread Starter
 
arthropraxis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 846
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Will the speedometer sensor cause the needle to sit below the 0 hash mark if it is bad?
The odometer, trip meter and all other gauges work fine. I took the gauges out and the needle isn't stuck.
arthropraxis is offline  
Old 12-24-2011, 03:47 PM
  #8  
944Ross
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
944Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NM (ABQ)
Posts: 2,238
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Your speedo must be dead, since the odo's work off the same signal.
944Ross is offline  
Old 12-24-2011, 09:39 PM
  #9  
arthropraxis
User
Thread Starter
 
arthropraxis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 846
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thanks, I didn't know that. I took around the block and the needle would move from below 0 up to the 0 hash mark but not above. The connectors were tight and the odometer/trip meter both worked. So, I need a new speedometer.
arthropraxis is offline  
Old 12-25-2011, 10:52 AM
  #10  
arthropraxis
User
Thread Starter
 
arthropraxis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 846
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Grasping at straws here. Any chance it could be the pinion gear in the sensor at the transmission?
arthropraxis is offline  
Old 01-01-2012, 07:28 PM
  #11  
arthropraxis
User
Thread Starter
 
arthropraxis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 846
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thanks, it was the speedometer. I got a used cluster and the speedometer now works fine. The new tach seems a little jumpy. When I blip the throttle it seems to rise and fall too quickly. Any idea what that can be? Also, when the motor is cranked it shoots up to about 3K RPM then falls back to normal. The last tach would not work at all for the first few seconds then it would pick up. It seemed to move more consistently through the RPM range, too.

Last edited by arthropraxis; 01-01-2012 at 09:11 PM.
arthropraxis is offline  
Old 01-02-2012, 08:56 AM
  #12  
mytrplseven
Super User
 
mytrplseven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Orlando area
Posts: 2,559
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

If you still have the old cluster, put the old tach in the new cluster.
mytrplseven is offline  
Old 01-02-2012, 09:32 AM
  #13  
arthropraxis
User
Thread Starter
 
arthropraxis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 846
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Seems to be working fine in the light of day. The old one was sticking and the needle was moving too slow which made this one look over active.

Last edited by arthropraxis; 01-02-2012 at 12:29 PM.
arthropraxis is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Speedometer needle adjustment


Contact Us - About Us - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: