Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Clutch Experts-answer this (long)

Search this Thread

Old 10-25-2009, 03:08 PM
dme
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 11 Likes on 8 Posts
Default Clutch Experts-answer this (long)

I'm looking for ideas from those who have replaced and studied the wear patterns on their clutches.

I've been trailing this issue with my clutch for several years. New clutch followed by vibration/thumping in the clutch pedal after 1 or 2k miles. I take the clutch apart and the only obvious issue I find (the first time...and second) is excessive play in the throwout bearing... What is causing it?

What causes the feedback on the clutch pedal? (only after high torque/high rpm driving)
Possibility: the throwout bearing (TB) is moving off center (there is play in the throwout bearing between the fingers when at rest). The first time you use the clutch, the fingers squeeze the TB back to center and the vibration is gone.

Shouldn't the fork hold the TB in place and prevent it from moving off center?
The fork holds the TB in one dimension, but not two. There is sign of wear on the left fork arm inside from the normal wear surface (the bearing moves in and out (more to the left side) between the arms)

What causes the premature TB wear?
I think this is caused by the wear in the clutch fork (CF) arms. One side is worn more then the other side and therefore one side engages earlier then the the other. If you have more pressure on one side then this is going to 'kink' the bearing.

Is this caused by an overly worn CF arm, or should I carry this further back to a worn/bent CF shaft (the needle bearing have been replaced previously) or even all the way back to the clutch housing (not seated properly or 'bent')