Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Opinions on new piston rings in old cylinders

Search this Thread

Old 03-06-2007, 01:14 PM
Samdog
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Opinions on new piston rings in old cylinders

I'm refreshing a race engine with some top end work, new rod bearings etc. The cylinders are in great shape with no scratches or marks.

I don't have the time or feel it is necessary to do a full rebuild of the bottom end at this time. Would it be worth it to put new piston rings in without doing any type of honing to the cylinder walls? Would the rings seat OK?
Old 03-06-2007, 08:34 PM
Samdog
Advanced

Anyone?
Old 03-06-2007, 08:41 PM
porcho heat
Pro

I put in new piston rings when I redid my 968 block... I'm no expert or anything but they needed replacing so I replaced them.
Old 03-06-2007, 09:22 PM
Scootin159
Drifting

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

With the material these blocks are made out of, you're more likely to end up worse off if you do hone the block than otherwise. You can't just hone these blocks without damaging them, you need to do some funky dozen-step process with numerous hazardous chemicals.

If you need to do anything to the cylinders, you're best bet is really to just cut out the cylinders and have sleeves done (~$3k), or the cheaper option is to find a different block.

That said....just replace the rings as it's you're only choice.
Old 03-06-2007, 09:27 PM
special tool
Banned

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

The engine that made 543 at the wheels in my sig. had new rings put in untouched bores.
Check the ring gap and do the rod bearings, too.
Old 03-07-2007, 12:29 AM
Samdog
Advanced