Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Intro and issues w/ 86 951 (1st post)

Search this Thread

Old 12-29-2005, 05:03 PM
canucope
AutoX

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Intro and issues w/ 86 951 (1st post)

First off great forum I've spent the last few of weeks just browsing around and reading about watercooled 4 bangers. Ya really seem to kid around and take it in stride plus the amount of tech know how on here can be staggering (plus so is the BS)!!

A little intro, I'm located near a flyspeck little town in SE Kansas called Thayer if anyone cares to look it up. I'm new to the Porsche world, my past interest has been Gen1-Gen3 N/A Mitsu Eclipses. I haven't had a project for a few years (2000 Eclipse GT 3.0 sold in 2002). I ran across a fellow car buff (addict) locally and have spend the last few years around his 944s ('86 951 & '90 944 Cab). Recently the 86 951 came up for sale and for the 1st time I took it out. Once on the curves I knew the Porsche bug had bit (goodbye torque steer and understeer issues of FWD). It took about a month of looking online and checking things out before we worked out a price (a good price so far at least, we'll see in the long run).

If this gets a little too involved my apologies in advance, future posts should be more reasonable.
Here are my pros and cons (which I have not been able to address searching the forum)
Pros
1. Looks new (2yr old garage kept) paint (should have a pic up tonite)
2. New steering (rack)
3. Inspected timing belt tension, rebuilt water pump
4. New master cylinder
5. New clutch master & slave
6. New muffler
7. Full mechanic inspection (non porsche though)
8. New tires (approx 1200 miles)
9. New radio does not pickup FM/AM stations (preamp wire perhaps)
Cons
1. Back hatch in bind (addressed via clarks garage and rennlist) FIXED