Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

I really don't think I should try...HG replacement...

Search this Thread

Old 04-25-2005, 12:16 PM
ANORXIC'51'
Rennlist Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I really don't think I should try...HG replacement...

Hi, I'm fairly new to 951 ownership...as its been in storage since Oct and was purchased in early Sept. Drove it up from the gulf coast of MS to St. Paul, MN and it was going strong for about a month. Head gasket blew sending plumbs of white smoke into the atmoshphere. Put it in storage as i didnt have the funds to fix it right away. I finally had it towed to my shop(audio install bay) and purchased a head gasket kit as well as water pump/tb/isb while i was at it.

Well...armed with the documents from Clarks Garage and Haynes...and only the NA version of the workshop manuals (the Turbo supplement is not working on the site i have..) and a whole lot of willingness to learn and do this myself...I can't even set the engine to TDC..I've found the window up front for lining up, but can't find the window at the rear of the engine...plus I'm confused as to if i should have anything pulled off to begin with to set TDC..
My determination is still there, but jeez that's disheartening when I can't even complete the very first step to a head removal.

Any help is EXTREMELY appreciated. Thank you

Christian
Old 04-25-2005, 12:25 PM
special tool
Banned

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

If you are not changing it, just get some white-out and mark the belt and the gear in 3 places. Then tie the belt with tension to the fender out of the way.
Old 04-25-2005, 12:27 PM
35thSLP
Burning Brakes