Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

First time Porsche owner with some Q's

Search this Thread

Old 04-21-2005, 02:35 PM
bigsheldy
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default First time Porsche owner with some Q's

Hey guys, I just picked up a 1984 944 NA. It cost me $2150 and it's a fixer-upper. It runs pretty good, and I'm going to use it as my daily driver, but it has a few flaws. I've been reading through several threads on this board, as well as the usual websites with 944 info. I'm trying to learn as much as I can about my new car. Sorry I don't know any real specific names of parts. I know a small amount about cars (more than average, I guess.) Also, sorry if I come across as a total noob moron, I'm just trying to get some help. Hopefully this is the right place. Thanks in advance. I've got some quick questions for you guys.

1. I've read the timing belts are a necessity to keep on top of, and the prior owner doesn't know the service history. How much can I expect to pay for a timing belt job, or is it worth doing it myself?

2. The heater is constantly on. Hot air blows through the air vents and by the pedals. The controls don't do anything, so I think he wired it to always be on. Is this a good guess, or is there something else?

3. The shifter keeps coming unattached from the metal part that goes back to the transmission. Am I missing a washer or something?

4. The sunroof doesn't work. I've followed the instructions in the manual, and it still doesn't do anything. Could it be a fuse, or is the motor bad? The motor doesn't even make a sound, so maybe it could be the actual button not being wired correctly?

oh, and here's a picture of it at night (it doesn't look as good up close ):

edit: one more question
Old 04-21-2005, 02:39 PM
aeronautica86
Three Wheelin'