Notices
911 Turbo (930) Forum 1975-1989

Need Help with first 930 turbo purchase (RSR)

Search this Thread

Old 07-27-2010, 09:01 AM
jstnoc
Track Day

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need Help with first 930 turbo purchase (RSR)

I am brand new to the porsche world and am needing some feedback on the transaction I am about to make. I am in the process of finalizing a trade plus cash deal with a 1986 930 street/track car. I have seen the car in person and done a walk around, gotten underneath, drove her (and she is fast), and sat there and drouled over her. Everything from what I can tell passes with flying colors besides a few expected items like tires, a few rubbers, and the inside E brake light stays on, etc. So the last thing is to convince the seller into a prepurchase inspection. Heres the deal. The car is completely modified RSR conversion. I thought this conversion took place within the past 5 years but after reviewing the receipts it looks like it was completed in 1997 or 1998 where they did a complete rebuild on the motor with pistons rods efi conversion bigger turbo wastegate, etc. The motor build looked to be around 50 thousand dollars so it seems like a no expense spared build up. Nothing is documented but from the previous owner (one before the actual seller) he says the car has 500hp to wheels at 1 bar of boost. Now from what I can tell a new speedo was installed and if I am correct the car has just about 10,000 miles on it from rebuild. I got underneath the back and it does have all the listed items like B&B exhast, headers, big turbo, wastegate, etc. in addition it has some oil leaks. This is what scares me. Is 10,000 miles alot for a motor this radical? Is this motor a mild build or way radical? I see one spot is from the turbo oil catch canister which seems harmless but other areas look like a drop off the front of the case and 2 more closer to the transmission. Maybe it is just the valve covers or ??? I have a boat with a 1200 hp twin turbo mo