911 Turbo (930) Forum 1975-1989

Low or no boost when hot

Search this Thread

Old 06-29-2010, 09:28 AM
RobT 394
Rennlist Member

Received 94 Likes on 58 Posts
Default Low or no boost when hot

I have a fully stock 89 930 with less than 30k miles. All parts are factory original including the intercooler, turbo and wastegate.

Problem: The car runs great initially. Once it gets up to temp following an initial start up in the morning the boost comes on normally, at the right RPM level and is very predictable. Actually the boost is quite easy to predict and you can get it to pull very strong with slight throttle movements. It is a great feeling! But after 30 minutes of running, or if the car sits in the sun and you restart the boost begins to drop out and eventually will not come on at all. With zero boost getting up large hills is very difficult.

Possible solutions from what I have read include the turbo, a vacuum leak, or the wastegate. I am new to turbos and still need some help.

I have traced all vacuum hoses connected to the main turbo parts (sensors, cooler, etc.) and they all look fine. But is a visible inspection enough? Do I need to track all possible vacuum leaks or just those in and around the turbo system? How do you do this? The motor is a bit noisy (in a very good way) and I am not sure I could hear a leak without a listening device.

I think the problem is probably the wastegate. The factory manuals provide the means to test this, but I don't have access to an air compressor. Should I just replace the diaphragm and spring since the car is 20+ years old and will probably need this anyway? Thinking is that this part is failing and works well when cool but as it heats up it fails to work properly.